Friday Giveaway – Chained by Night by Larissa Ione

Latte bunny


Our Winner is…Stephanie.


God Bless Friday!  I am so happy to see you again.

There has been a lot of controversy this week over the publisher Ellora’s Cave suing the book review blog ‘Dear Author’ for posting an article inferring that some of their authors weren’t receiving prompt payment.  I have read dozens of articles about this, including several regarding authors who are cheering the lawsuit since Dear Author is as vocal on books they don’t like as well as books that they do.  It seems rather petty to me.  No one wants to hear their hard work trashed, but any artist has to know that not everyone is going to like what they do.   If you don’t understand that, then trying to sell your books is going to be painful.

So much of the conversation about this lawsuit has turned into conversations about leaving a bad reviews.   Do you or don’t you?

My feeling is that the whole point of starting a book review blog is to share my opinion on books that I’ve read.   I have read almost 100 books this year, and most of them have been provided to me by publishers.  So I can take a risk on an unknown author to see if I like their storytelling and it doesn’t cost me.

My hope is that before you spend your hard earned book allowance on your next book, maybe I can provide you a little insight on whether a story is worth reading.  That means not only raving about wonderful new books or authors that I have found, but also warning you about books that are flawed and aren’t worth the time or money to read.  Who wants to waste time on a bad book?

I want to help authors get noticed.  Especially ones who have written a story that I really enjoyed.   But ultimately the purpose of a book blog is to help match the readers with their next favorite book.  I have no desire to trash an author or their hard work, but if I didn’t get enjoyment out of the story, then it hasn’t done its job and I need to share that with you before you decide whether to spend your money on it.

Nothing is better than going to the bookstore and picking up a new book.  Its the adult toystore.  Heck, my kids love it when I take them to the book store.  The only problem is that unless you are going to pick up the next book from your favorite author, you are simply surrounded by shelves and shelves of books and you can’t tell by looking at it or reading the back cover if this story is going to be something you are going to enjoy.

My hope is that next time you make a trip to your favorite bookstore that I have given some information, good or bad, to help make your next book selection.

On that note, this week’s giveaway is a new paranormal series that I talked about on Monday from Larissa Ione.  It is Book 2 in the series. You could read this without reading Book 1, but you will be a half-step behind.  I really enjoyed this story and the majority of the bloggers that I read have agreed with me.

So my question to you this week is – Do you ever leave a bad review if you don’t like a book (or any product that you have purchased) or do you only share the positive?

Giveaway ends October 9th. Open to U.S. residents, 18 years and older.


THE FUTURE OF HIS TRIBE
Leader of the vampire clan MoonBound, Hunter will do what he must to save his people from extinction – or worse, a torturous eternity as vampire slaves and subjects of human experimentation. To keep his enemies at bay, he has agreed to mate a rival clan leader’s daughter in return for peace between the clans and an ally in the looming war with the humans.

THE LOVER OF HIS SOUL
But survival comes at a price. First, Hunter must break an ancient curse by successfully negotiating three deadly tests. Then he must resist the searing passions of the gorgeous vampire warrior he despises but is bound to mate. Will Hunter stay true to his word? Or will he risk everything for the woman he really loves: the vampire seductress’s identical twin sister?

About Lucy Dosch

I am working mother of two beautiful girls with an obsession for reading. I now carry my Nook everywhere I go and I am ready to read at any given time, whether waiting in line at car pick up, waiting for dinner to cook, or once the kids are finally settled for the night.

Posted on October 3, 2014, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’ve left what I guess could be considered bad reviews. I don’t trash an author but I do point out what I did and didn’t like to help people make an informed choice. I know not everyone is bothered by the same things that drive me crazy so I try to review both the positives and negatives. I’m with you on that their is nothing worse than spending good money on a bad book.
    Loved the first book in the series and am looking forward to this one. Thanks for the giveaway.

  2. What is the definition of a bad review? I’m never rude in my review but I have left reviews where I didn’t click with a book or the characters but others loved it. I gave my honest opinion and tried to share why I gave only 2 stars which to me is usually more about how I connect to a story. I have given 3-4 star reviews and noted when an author has a lot of typos/mistakes in the editing but the characters kept me pulled into the story. I like reviews where the person approaches from their perspective of what they liked/disliked without being mean to the author. A lot of work goes into a book and wow, a huge amount of courage to click publish. I respect this always. I appreciate your reviews and the honesty you put into what you say. It has helped me as I consider what books to get.

  3. I leave bad reviews as well as good ones

  4. I leave bad reviews but temper them by stating that it may just be me because it really could be the truth.

  5. don’t write reviews

  6. I leave honest reviews, both negative and positive. I never attack the author and always explain why I did not like a certain book.

  7. I generally don’t write reviews (though I know I should). I tend to avoid saying negative things, though.

Talk books with me. Tell me what you think.

